Fifteen New Higher Education Institutions Join Universities Climate Network to Collaborate on COP28 Youth-Focused Initiatives

The Universities Climate Network (UCN), comprising UAE-based universities and higher education institutions, will facilitate dialogues, workshops, public events, and youth participation in the lead up to COP28 UAE

Press Release

The Universities Climate Network (UCN), chaired by NYU Abu Dhabi, welcomed today 15 additional higher education institutions from the UAE, bringing the total number of participating institutions to 27.

These include the Abu Dhabi Polytechnic, Abu Dhabi University, Ajman University, Al Ain University, American University in Dubai, American University in the Emirates, Amity University Dubai, Canadian University Dubai, De Montfort University Dubai, Emirates College for Advanced Education, Heriot-Watt University Dubai, University of Sharjah, Rabdan Academy, University of Birmingham Dubai, and University of Wollongong in Dubai.

The recently launched UCN comprises UAE-based universities and higher education institutions working together to drive engagement among youth and academia in the lead up to COP28 UAE. This includes collaborating on research and innovation for climate solutions, as well as facilitating dialogues, workshops, and public events, among other activities.

COP28 UAE will take place at Expo City Dubai from November 30 to December 12, 2023. The Conference is expected to convene over 70,000 participants, including heads of state, government officials, international industry leaders, private sector representatives, academics, experts, youth, and non-state actors.  

For more information about the UCN, please visit this page.

Members of the Universities Climate Network (UCN) to date include:

  1. American University of Sharjah
  2. Anwar Gargash Diplomatic Academy
  3. Amity University Dubai
  4. Canadian University Dubai
  5. Higher Colleges of Technology
  6. Khalifa University
  7. Mohamed bin Zayed University of Artificial Intelligence
  8. Mohamed bin Zayed University for Humanities
  9. National Defence College
  10. NYU Abu Dhabi
  11. Sorbonne University Abu Dhabi
  12. United Arab Emirates University
  13. Zayed University
  14. Abu Dhabi Polytechnic
  15. Abu Dhabi University
  16. Ajman University
  17. Al Ain University
  18. American University in Dubai 
  19. American University in the Emirates 
  20. De Montfort University Dubai
  21. Emirates College for Advanced Education 
  22. Heriot-Watt University Dubai
  23. University of Sharjah
  24. Rabdan Academy
  25. University of Birmingham Dubai
  26. University of Wollongong in Dubai
  27. American University of Ras Al Khaimah

About NYU Abu Dhabi

NYU Abu Dhabi is the first comprehensive liberal arts and research campus in the Middle East to be operated abroad by a major American research university. NYU Abu Dhabi has integrated a highly selective undergraduate curriculum across the disciplines with a world center for advanced research and scholarship. The university enables its students in the sciences, engineering, social sciences, humanities, and arts to succeed in an increasingly interdependent world and advance cooperation and progress on humanity’s shared challenges. NYU Abu Dhabi’s high-achieving students have come from over 115 countries and speak over 115 languages. Together, NYU's campuses in New York, Abu Dhabi, and Shanghai form the backbone of a unique global university, giving faculty and students opportunities to experience varied learning environments and immersion in other cultures at one or more of the numerous study-abroad sites NYU maintains on six continents.