Awards, Grants, and Patents

Prizes/Awards (Scientific)

  • Humboldt Fellow, 1983;
  • Guggenheim Fellow, 1988;
  • Otto Laporte Award, American Physical Society, 1995;
  • Engineering Sciences Medal, The World Academy of Sciences, 2002;
  • Distinguished Alumnus, Indian Institute of Science, 2003;
  • International Prize and Gold Medal, Accademia delle Scienze di Torino, 2006;
  • President Dr. Zakir Husain Memorial Award, Indian Society of Applied and Industrial Mathematics, 2007;
  • Nusselt-Reynolds Prize, Assembly of the World Conference on Experimental and Heat Transfer, Fluid Mechanics and Thermodynamics, 2009;
  • G.I. Taylor Medal, Society of Engineering Science, 2019;
  • von Karman Medal, American Society of Civil Engineers; Charles Russ Richards Memorial Award, American Society of Mechanical Engineering Pi Tau Sigma, 2020;
  • Fluid Dynamics Prize, American Physical Society, 2020;
  • Leo P. Kadanoff Prize of the American Physical Society, 2022

Honors (leadership)

  • National Order of Scientific Merit Certificate, Brazilian Government and Brazilian Academy of Sciences, 2007;
  • UNESCO Medal for Promoting International Scientific Cooperation and World Peace, World Heritage Centre, 2007;
  • Dwight Nicholson Medal for Human Outreach, American Physical Society, 2008;
  • Award for International Scientific Cooperation, American Association for the Advancement of Science, 2009;
  • Multicultural Leadership Award of the National Diversity Council, 2011;
  • Corporate Social Responsibility Award from City and State, New York, 2016;
  • Brooklyn-building Award, Brooklyn Chamber of Commerce, 2017


  • American Academy of Arts and Sciences;
  • US National Academy of Engineering;
  • US National Academy of Sciences;
  • American Association for the Advancement of Science; American Physical Society;
  • American Society of Mechanical Engineers;
  • Academy of Sciences for Developing World (TWAS); Indian Academy of Sciences;
  • Indian National Academy of Sciences;
  • Indian National Academy of Engineering;
  • African Academy of Sciences;
  • Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei, Rome;
  • Accademia Torre e Tasso;
  • Tata Institute of Fundamental Research.