2018-2019 Academic Calendar

Orientation

Date Event
August 19 (Sunday)
 
Arafat Day
August 22 (Wednesday)
 
Eid Al-Adha
August 22-24 (Wed-Fri)

Arrival window for new students

August 24 - September 1 (Fri-Sat)
 
First Year Marhaba (Student Orientation)
August 25 (Sunday)
 
Arrival date for visiting students
August 26 - September 1 (Sun-Sat)
 
Visiting Student Orientation
August 27-28 (Mon-Tues)

Faculty Orientation
August 30 - September 1 (Thu-Sat) Arrival window for returning students
 

Fall Semester 1

Date Event
September 2 (Sunday)                               

Classes begin
September 8 (Saturday)

Add/ drop deadline for 7-week courses
September 8 (Saturday)

Legislative Day (classes meet on a Wednesday schedule)
September 12 (Wednesday)

No classes: Al-Hijra/ Islamic New Year

September 15 (Saturday)

Add/ drop deadline for 14-week courses
October 3 (Wednesday)

Withdrawal and change of grading basis deadline for 7-week courses
October 18 (Thursday)

Last day of classes for 7-week courses
October 20-21 (Sat-Sun)

No classes or midterms: Final exams for 7-week courses
October 22-26 (Mon-Fri)

Fall break

Fall Semester 2

Date Event
October 27 (Saturday)

Classes resume/ Legislative Day (classes meet on a Wednesday schedule)
November 2 (Friday)

Add/ drop deadline for 7-week courses
November 9 (Friday)

Withdrawal and change of grading basis deadline for 14-week courses
November 21 (Wednesday)

No classes: Prophet’s Birthday holiday
November 27 (Tuesday)

Withdrawal and change of grading basis deadline for 7-week courses
November 30 (Friday)

No classes: Martyr’s Day holiday
December 2 (Sunday)

No classes: UAE National Day holiday
December 16 (Sunday)

Last day of classes
December 17-22 (Mon-Sat)

Final exams
December 23 (Sunday)

Final departure date
December 23 (Sunday)

Winter break begins

Winter Break

Date Event
December 23, 2018 - January 5, 2019

Winter break

January Term in Abu Dhabi

Date Event
January 5-6 (Sat-Sun)

Arrival window for all students
January 5 (Saturday)
 
Arrival date for visiting students
January 6 (Sunday)
 
Visiting Student Orientation
January 6 (Sunday)

Faculty Orientation
January 7 (Monday)

Classes begin
January 24 (Thursday)

Last day of classes
January 24-25 (Thu-Fri)

Departure window

January Term in New York and Washington DC

Date Event
January 6 (Sunday)

Arrival day
January 7 (Monday)

Classes begin
January 21 (Monday)

No classes: Martin Luther King Day
January 25 (Friday)

Last day of classes
January 25-26 (Fri-Sat)

Departure window

January Term in NYU Global Sites

Date Event
January 7 (Monday)

Arrival day
January 8 (Tuesday)

Classes begin
January 25 (Friday)

Last day of classes
January 25-26 (Fri-Sat)

Departure window

Spring Semester 1

Date Event
January 26 (Saturday)
 
Arrival date for visiting students
January 27-28 (Sun-Mon)
 
Visiting Student Orientation
January 27-28 (Sun-Mon)

Arrival window for all students
* Date to be confirmed

Faculty Orientation
January 29 (Tuesday)

Classes begin
February 4 (Monday)

Add/ drop deadline for 7-week courses
February 11 (Monday)

Add/ drop deadline for 14-week courses
March 1 (Friday)

Withdrawal and change of grading basis deadline for 7-week courses
March 18 (Monday)

Last day of classes for 7-week courses
March 19-20 (Tue-Wed)

No classes or midterms: Final exams for 7-week courses

Spring Break

Date Event
March 21-30 (Thu-Sat)

No classes

Spring Semester 2

Date Event
March 31 (Sunday)

Classes begin
April 3 (Wednesday)

Isra and Mi'rai Holiday

April 7 (Monday)

Add/ drop deadline for 7-week courses

April 13 (Saturday)

Withdrawal and change of grading basis deadline for 14-week courses
April 13 (Saturday) Legislative Day (classes meet on a Wednesday schedule)
April 30 (Tuesday)

Withdrawal and change of grading basis deadline for 7-week courses
May 5 (Sunday)

Beginning of Ramadan 
May 16 (Thursday)

Last day of classes

May 19-23 (Sun-Thu)

Final exams
May 24 (Friday)
 
Final departure date
May 27 (Monday)

Commencement
May 28 (Tuesday)
 
Departure after Commencement

Summer Term

Date Event
May 26 (Sunday)
 
Arrival date for visiting students
May 27 (Monday)

Visiting Student Orientation
May 28 (Tuesday)

Classes begin
May 30 (Thursday)

Add/ drop deadline
June 5-6 (Thu-Fri) Eid al Fitr Holiday
June 10 (Monday)

Withdrawal and change of grading basis deadline
June 26 (Wednesday)

Last day of classes
June 27 (Thursday)

Final exams
June 28 (Friday)

Depature day