2024-2025 Academic Calendar

Last updated July 10, 2024

Fall Semester 1

Date Event
August 19-20 (Mon-Tue) First-year arrival window
August 21-25 (Wed-Sun) Marhaba first-year orientation program
August 21 (Wednesday) Visiting Student arrival 
Aug 22-25 (Thu-Sun) Visiting Student Marhaba
Aug 24-25 (Sat-Sun) Upperclass student arrival window
August 26 (Monday)
First day of classes 
August 30 (Friday) Add/drop deadline for 7-week courses 
September 6 (Friday) Add/drop deadline for 14-week courses 
September 15 (Sunday)* Observance of the Prophet Mohammed’s Birthday 
September 27 (Friday) Withdrawal deadline for 7-week courses 
October 4 (Friday) Grading basis change (pass/fail) deadline for first 7-week courses 
October 11 (Friday) Last day of classes for 7-week courses 
October 12-15 (Sat-Tue) No classes: Final exams for 7-week courses 
October 16-20 (Wed-Sun) No classes: Fall break

Fall Semester 2

Date Event
October 21 (Monday)
Classes resume
October 25 (Friday) Add/drop deadline for 7-week courses
November 8 (Friday)
Withdrawal deadline for 14-week courses
November 22 (Friday) Withdrawal deadline for second 7-week courses
November 22 (Friday) Grading basis change (pass/fail) deadline for 14-week courses
November 28 (Thursday) Grading basis change (pass/fail) deadline for second 7-week courses
December 2-3 (Mon-Tue) No classes: National Day Holiday
December 10 (Tuesday) Last day of classes
December 11 (Wednesday)
Reading day
December 12-18 (Thu-Wed)
Final exams
December 19 (Thursday)
Departure day: Winter break begins
December 21 (Saturday) Final grades due

January Term 2025 (Tentative)

Date Event
January 6 (Monday) Classes begin (tentative)*
*Global J-Term sites may have a different start/end date
January 17 (Friday)
Last day of classes (tentative)

Spring Semester 1

Date Event
January 15 (Wednesday) Visiting Student arrival 
Jan 16-19 (Thu-Sun) Visiting Student Marhaba
January 19-20 (Sun-Mon) Returning student arrivals
January 21 (Tuesday) First day of classes
January 27 (Monday) Add/ drop deadline for first 7-week courses
February 3 (Monday) Add/ drop deadline for 14-week courses
February 24 (Monday) Withdrawal deadline for first 7-week courses
March 3 (Monday)

Grading basis change (pass/fail) deadline for first 7-week courses

March 10 (Monday) Last day of classes for first 7-week courses
March 11-14 (Tue-Fri) No 14-week classes. Final exams for first 7-week courses

Spring Semester 2

Date Event
March 17 (Monday) Classes begin for second 7-week courses
March 21 (Friday) Add/ drop deadline for second 7-week courses
March 28 (Friday) Withdrawal deadline for 14-week courses
Spring Break
March 29-April 6 (Sat-Sun)

No classes: Eid Al-Fitr Holiday; Spring Break
April 25 (Friday)

Withdrawal deadline for second 7-week courses

April 25 (Friday) Grading basis change (pass/fail) deadline for 14-week courses
May 2 (Friday) Grading basis change (pass/fail) deadline for second 7-week courses
May 9 (Friday) Last day of classes
May 10 (Saturday) Reading Day (No classes or exams)
May 11-16 (Sun-Fri) Final exams
May 17 (Saturday) Visiting students depart
May 17 (Saturday) Returning students depart
May 19 (Monday) Final grades due
May NYUAD Commencement (TBA)
May

NYUAD Seniors depart (TBA)

Four-Week Summer Session in Abu Dhabi

Date Event
May 26 (Monday) First day of Summer Session classes
May 27 (Tuesday) End of course swap for enrolled students who did not complete prerequisites successfully/Last day to withdraw without a grade
June 5-8 (Thu-Sun) No classes: Eid al-Adha
June 23 (Monday) Last day of classes
June 24 (Tuesday)

Final exams

June 26 (Thursday) Final grades due

J-Term 2025 (Tentative)

J-Term in Abu Dhabi
May 19 (Monday) First day of J-Term classes (tentative)*
*Global J-Term sites may have a different start/end date
May 30 (Thursday) Last day of classes (tentative)

*Note: Islamic holidays are determined according to moon sighting and are subject to change. Last-minute changes to the holiday calendar may result in Legislative Days needing to be scheduled after the semester begins.

All registration deadlines are 4pm on the day listed so they can be reviewed in a timely manner.