2023-2024 Academic Calendar

Orientation

Fall Semester 1

Date Event
August 29 (Tuesday)                               
First day of classes
September 4 (Monday) Add/drop deadline for 7-week courses
September 11 (Monday) Add/drop deadline for 14-week courses
September 26 (Tuesday) Legislative day: Classes meet on a Thursday schedule
September 28 (Thursday) Legislative day: Classes meet on a Friday schedule
September 29 (Friday)* No classes: Observance of the Prophet Muhammad’s Birthday
September 30 (Saturday) Withdrawal deadline for 7-week courses
October 10 (Tuesday) Grading basis change (pass/fail) deadline for first 7-week courses
October 17 (Tuesday) Last day of classes for 7-week courses
October 18 (Wednesday) Reading Day (no classes) 
October 19-21 (Thu-Sat) No classes: Final exams for 7-week courses
October 22-25 (Sun-Wed) No classes: Fall break

Fall Semester 2

Date Event
October 26 (Thursday)
Classes resume
October 28 (Saturday) Legislative day: Classes meet on a Wednesday schedule
November 1 (Wednesday) Add/drop deadline for 7-week courses
November 5 (Sunday)
Withdrawal deadline for 14-week courses
November 27 (Monday) Withdrawal deadline for 7-week courses
November 29 (Wednesday) Legislative day: Classes meet on a Friday schedule
November 29 (Wednesday) Grading basis change (pass/fail) deadline for 14-week courses
December 1 (Mon) No classes: National Day Holiday
December 7 (Thursday) Grading basis change (pass/fail) deadline for second 7-week courses
December 10 (Sun) Legislative day: Classes meet on a Monday schedule
December 14 (Thursday) Last day of classes
December 15 (Friday)
Reading day
December 16-21 (Sat-Thu)
Final exams
December 22 (Friday)
Departure day: Winter break begins

Winter Break

Date Event
December 22 - January 2 (Fri-Tue) No classes: Winter break

January Term in Abu Dhabi and Global Sites

(Other than New York, Washington DC, Los Angeles, and Tel Aviv)

Date Event
January 3 (Wednesday) Students Arrive
January 4 (Thursday) Classes begin
January 6 (Saturday) Legislative day: Classes meet
January 19 (Friday)
Last day of January Term
January 20 (Saturday) Students Depart

January Term in New York, Washington DC, and Los Angeles (US Sites)

Date Event
January 3 (Wednesday) Students Arrive
January 4 (Thursday)
Classes begin
January 6 (Saturday)
Legislative day: Classes meet
January 13 (Saturday) Legislative day: Classes meet
January 15 (Monday)
No classes: Martin Luther King Holiday
January 19 (Friday)
Last day of January Term in New York, Washington DC, and Los Angeles
January 20 (Saturday) Students Depart

January Term in Tel Aviv*

* Note classes held on a Sunday-Thursday schedule.

Date Event
January 3 (Wednesday) Students Arrive
January 4 (Thursday)
Classes begin
January 5 (Friday)
Legislative day: Classes meet
January 19 (Friday)

Last day of January Term courses in Tel Aviv

January 20 (Saturday) Students Depart

Spring Semester 1

Date Event
January 17 (Wednesday) Visiting student arrivals
January 18-21 (Thu-Sun) Visiting student Marhaba
January 20-21 (Sat-Sun) Returning student arrivals
January 22 (Monday) Classes begin
January 28 (Sunday) Add/drop deadline for 7-week courses
February 4 (Sunday)
Add/ drop deadline for 14-week courses
February 25 (Sunday)
Grading basis change (pass/fail) deadline for first 7-week courses
March 8 (Friday)
Last day of classes for first 7-week courses
March 10-12 (Sun -Tue)
No 14-week classes. Final exams for first 7-week courses

Spring Break

Date Event
March 13-19 (Wed-Tue)
No classes

Spring Semester 2

Date Event
March 20 (Wednesday)
Classes begin for second 7-week courses
March 26 (Tuesday)
Add/ drop deadline for second 7-week courses
April 2 (Tuesday) Withdrawal deadline for 14-week courses
April 10-12 (Wed-Fri) No classes: Eid Al-Fitr Holiday
April 26 (Friday)
Withdrawal deadline for second 7-week courses
April 26 (Friday) Grading basis change (pass/fail) deadline for 14-week courses
May 5 (Friday) Grading basis change (pass/fail) deadline for second 7-week courses
May 10 (Friday) Last day of classes
May 11 (Saturday) Reading Day (no classes or exams)
May 12-17 (Sun-Fri) Final exams
May 18 (Saturday) Visiting students depart
May 18 (Saturday) Returning students depart
May 22 (Wednesday)
NYUAD Commencement
May 23 (Thursday) NYUAD Seniors depart

June Term 2024

June Term in Abu Dhabi
May 20 (Monday) Students arrive
May 21 (Tuesday) First day of June Term classes
May 22 (Wednesday) No classes (NYUAD Commencement Day)
June 7 (Friday) Last day of classes
June 8 (Saturday) Students depart
June Term at Global Sites: Accra, Florence, Longon, Prague, Tel Aviv
May 20 (Monday) Students arrive
May 21 (Tuesday) First day of classes
June 6 (Thursday) Last day of classes
June 7 (Friday) Students depart
June Term at Global Sites: Berlin, Buenos Aires, Madrid, Paris
May 21 (Tuesday) Students arrive
May 22 (Wednesday) First day of classes
June 7 (Friday) Last day of classes
June 8 (Saturday) Students depart
June Term at Global sites: New York, Washington DC, and Los Angeles
May 20 (Monday) Students arrive
May 21 (Tuesday) First day of classes
May 27 (Monday) No classes: Memorial Day 
June 7 (Friday) Last day of classes
June 8 (Saturday) Students depart

Four-Week Summer Session in Abu Dhabi

Date Event
May 20 (Monday) First day of June Term classes
May 21 (Tuesday) End of course swap/Withdraw begins
May 22 (Wednesday) No classes (NYUAD Commencement Day)
June 13 (Thursday) Last day of classes
June 14 (Sunday) Final exams

*Note: Islamic holidays are determined according to moon sighting and are subject to change.