Academic Calendar

Orientation

Mandatory First Year Orientation: Marhaba programming takes place the week before fall classes begin. More information will be shared about the dates and format of Marhaba programming over the summer.

Fall Semester 1

Date Event
September 6 (Sunday)                               
Classes begin
September 13 (Sunday)
Add/ drop deadline for 7-week courses
September 20 (Sunday)
Add/ drop deadline for 14-week courses
October 4 (Sunday)
Withdrawal and change of grading basis deadline for 7-week courses
October 18 (Sunday) Legislative day classes meet on Wednesday schedule
October 19 (Monday) Legislative day classes meet on Thursday schedule
October 19 (Monday) Last day of classes for 7-week courses
October 20-22 (Tues-Thu) No classes: Final exams for 7-week courses

Fall Semester 2

Date Event
October 25 (Sunday)
Classes resume
October 29 (Thursday) The Prophet’s Birthday Holiday (classes will meet as scheduled)
November 1 (Sunday) Add/ drop deadline for 7-week courses
November 14 (Saturday) Legislative Day (classes meet on a Tuesday schedule)
November 14 (Saturday)
Withdrawal and change of grading basis deadline for 7-week courses
November 22 (Sunday) Withdrawal and change of grading basis deadline for 14-week courses
November 30 (Monday) Commemoration Day (classes will meet as scheduled)
December 1-3 (Tue-Thu)
No classes: National Day Holiday
December 10 (Thursday)
Last day of classes
December 13-17 (Sun-Thu)
Final exams
December 18 (Friday)
Departure day/ Winter break begins

Winter Break

Date Event
December 20- January 3 (Sun-Sun) No classes

January Term

NYUAD will not have regular J-Term classes in January

Spring Semester 1

Date Event
January (TBD) Marhaba for first-year students
January 17 (Sunday)
Classes begin
January 24 (Sunday)
Add/drop deadline for 7-week courses
January 31 (Sunday) Add/drop deadline for 14-week courses
February 14 (Sunday) Withdrawal and change of grading basis deadline for 7-week courses
March 4 (Thursday)  Last day of classes for 7-week courses
March 6-8 (Sat-Mon)
Final exams for 7-week courses

Spring Break

Date Event
March 9-15 (Tue-Mon)
No classes

Spring Semester 2

Date Event
March 16 (Tuesday)
7-week classes begin
March 23 (Tuesday) Add/drop deadline for 7-week courses
May 3 (Monday)
Last day of classes
May 4-11 (Tue-Tue) Final exams
May 13-15 (Thu-Sat)  Eid Al-Fitr
May 22 (Saturday) Commencement (tentative)
April 5 (Monday) Withdrawal and change of grading basis deadline for 7-week courses
April 13 (Tuesday) Withdrawal and change of  grading basis deadline for 14-week courses

Summer Term

Date Event
May 23 (Sunday)
Classes begin
May 25 (Tuesday) Add/drop deadline
May 25 (Tuesday) Withdraw deadline for summer J-Term
June 6 (Sunday)
Withdrawal deadline
June 10 (Thursday) Last day of Summer J-Term (tentative)
June 10 (Thursday) Last day of classes for J-Term Replacement courses
June 12 (Saturday) Three-week J-Term Replacement courses final exam
July 8 (Thursday)
Last day of classes
July 10 (Saturday)
Seven-week courses final exam