Academic Calendar

Orientation

Fall Semester 1

Date Event
August 26 (Monday)                               
Classes begin
September 2 (Monday)
Add/ drop deadline for 7-week courses
September 9 (Monday)
Add/ drop deadline for 14-week courses
September 23 (Monday)
Withdrawal and change of grading basis deadline for 7-week courses
October 13 (Sunday) Last day of classes for 7-week courses
October 14 (Monday)
Reading day
October 15-17 (Tue-Thu) No classes or midterms: Final exams for 7-week courses
October 18-21 (Fri-Mon)
Fall break

Fall Semester 2

Date Event
October 22 (Tuesday)
Classes resume/ Legislative Day (classes meet on a Sunday schedule)
October 23 (Wednesday) Legislative Day (classes meet on a Monday schedule)
October 28 (Monday)
Add/ drop deadline for 7-week courses
November 4 (Monday)
Withdrawal and change of grading basis deadline for 14-week courses
November 19 (Tuesday)
Withdrawal and change of grading basis deadline for 7-week courses
December 1-3 (Sun-Tue)
No classes: Commemoration and National Day
December 12 (Thursday)
Last day of classes/ Legislative Day (classes meet on a Tuesday schedule)
December 15-19 (Sun-Thu)
Final exams
December 20 (Friday)
Departure day/ Winter break begins

January Term in Abu Dhabi

Date Event
January 4-5 (Sat-Sun)
Arrival window for all students
January 4 (Saturday) Arrival date for visiting students
January 5 (Sunday) Visiting Student Orientation
January 5 (Sunday)
Faculty Orientation
January 6 (Monday)
Classes begin
January 23 (Thursday)
Last day of classes
January 23-24 (Thu-Fri)
Departure window

January Term in New York and Washington DC

Date Event
January 5 (Sunday)
Arrival day
January 6 (Monday)
Classes begin
January 20 (Monday)
No classes: Martin Luther King Day
January 24 (Friday)
Last day of classes
January 24-25 (Fri-Sat)
Departure window

January Term in NYU Global Sites

Date Event
January 6 (Monday)
Arrival day
January 7 (Tuesday)
Classes begin
January 24 (Friday)
Last day of classes
January 24-25 (Fri-Sat)

Departure window

Spring Semester 1

Date Event
January 24 (Fri) Arriva date for visiting students
January 25-27 (Sat-Mon) Arrival date for all students
January 25-27 (Sat-Mon) Visiting Student Orientation
January (TBD)
Faculty Orientation
January 28 (Tuesday)
Classes begin
February 3 (Monday)
Add/ drop deadline for 7-week courses
February 10 (Monday)
Add/ drop deadline for 14-week courses
February 24 (Monday)
Withdrawal and change of grading basis deadline for 7-week courses
March 16 (Monday)
Last day of classes for 7-week courses
March 17-19 (Tue-Thu)
No classes or midterms: Final exams for 7-week courses

Spring Break

Date Event
March 20-28 (Fri-Sat)

No classes

Spring Semester 2

Date Event
March 29 (Sunday)
Classes resume
April 4 (Saturday)
Add/ drop deadline for 7-week courses
April 11 (Saturday)
Withdrawal and change of grading basis deadline for 14-week courses
April 23 (Thursday) Beginning of Ramadan 
April 25 (Saturday)
Withdrawal and change of grading basis deadline for 7-week courses
May 14 (Thursday)
Last day of classes
May 16-21 (Sat-Thu)
Final exams
May 22 (Friday) Underclass departure date
May 24-26 (Sun-Tue) Eid al Fitr Holiday
May 27 (Wednesday)
Commencement (subject to change)
May 28 (Thursday) Graduating student departure date

Summer Term

Date Event
May 31 (Sunday)
Classes begin/ Visiting Research Student arrival date
June 1 (Monday)
Visiting Student Orientation
June 2 (Tuesday) Add/ drop deadline
June 14 (Sunday) Withdrawal and change of grading basis deadline
June 25 (Thursday)
Last day of classes
June 27 (Saturday)
Final exams
June 28 (Sunday)
Departure day for summer school students