Recognizing Religion(s)

Talk

WHEN November 30, 2020
3:42pm WHERE Zoom Webinar WHO NYU Abu Dhabi Institute By Invitation Interested scholars please contact nyuad.programs@nyu.edu

This is the second of a series of online seminars that will explore the historical, cultural, and geographical boundaries and contact points between the peoples of Europe, the Middle East, and other parts of the world, from the beginning of Islam to the near present.

The series highlights recent and ongoing research in the interactions, habits, and concepts that facilitated ‘recognition’ of religion(s) and how these changed over time. ‘Recognition’ describes not merely the act of attentive observation and differentiation, but also implicit adaptation and appropriation, facilitated by real and imaginary encounters. We hope to contribute to knowledge of basic taxonomies and topographies of the contexts, forms, arenas, axes, and dimensions of recognition between cultural groups. The series launches a joint initiative between NYU Abu Dhabi Humanities Research Fellowship for the Study of the Arab World program, the Institute for Religion and Critical Inquiry at Australian Catholic University, and the European Qur'an: Islamic Scripture in European Culture and Religion project at the University of Copenhagen (EuQu).

The initiative seeks to develop a series of international workshops and publications re-examining the dynamics of cultural change and exchange in Islam, Judaism and Christianity, over the course of their entire shared history, to the present day.

Open to the NYUAD community and by invitation.

Timings:
Abu Dhabi 12:00 | Melbourne 19:00 | Perth 16:00 | Berlin 9:00 | New York 3:00

NOVEMBER 30
"Forms of Religious Recognition in Early Modern Iberia and the Ottoman Empire"
 
REGISTER

Speaker
Mercedes García-Arenal, CSIC, Madrid & Tijana Krstić, CEU, Vienna

Moderated by 
Jan Loop, University of Copenhagen





 

Join our events mailing lists

Always be the first to know about what's going on in our community. Sign up for one of our newsletters and receive information on a wide variety of events such as exhibition, lectures, films, art performances, discussions and conferences.

Join The Arts Center events mailing list Join The Institute events mailing list Join The Art Gallery events mailing list Join The StartAD events mailing list