Updated January 5, 2016

Orientation

DateEvent
August 17-19 (Wednesday-Friday)
Arrival window for new students
August 20-27 (Saturday-Saturday)
First Year Marhaba (Student Orientation)
August 25-27 (Thursday-Saturday)
Arrival window for returning students

Fall Semester 1

DateEvent
August 28 (Sunday)                               
Classes begin
September 1 (Thursday)Add/Drop deadline for 7-week courses
September 8 (Thursday)
Add/Drop deadline for 14-week courses
September 10-13 (Saturday-Tuesday)No classes: Eid Al-Adha
September 29 (Thursday)
Withdrawal and change of grading basis deadline for 7-week courses
October 2 (Sunday)
No classes: Al-Hijra/ Islamic New Year
October 8 (Saturday)
Legislative Day (classes meet on a Sunday schedule)
October 18 (Tuesday)Last day of classes for 7-week courses
October 19-20 (Wednesday-Thursday)No classes: Final exams for 7-week courses
October 21-25 (Friday-Tuesday)
Fall break

Fall Semester 2

DateEvent
October 26 (Wednesday)Classes begin
November 1 (Tuesday)Add/Drop deadline for 7-week courses
November 8 (Tuesday)Withdrawal and change of grading basis deadline for 14-week courses
November 27 (Sunday)Withdrawal and change of grading basis deadline for 7-week courses
November 30 (Wednesday)No classes: UAE Martyrs' Day holiday
December 1-2 (Thursday-Friday)
No classes: UAE National Day holiday
December 10 (Saturday)
Legislative Day (classes meet on a Monday schedule)
December 12 (Monday)No classes: Prophet's Birthday holiday
December 15 (Thursday)Last day of classes
December 16 (Friday)No classes: Reading Day
December 17-21 (Saturday-Wednesday)Final Exams
December 22 (Thursday)Winter break begins
December 21-22 (Wednesday-Thursday) Departure window

Winter Break

DateEvent
December 22, 2016 - January 3, 2017Winter Break

January Term in Abu Dhabi

DateEvent
January 2-3 (Monday-Tuesday) Arrival window for all students
January 4 (Wednesday)Classes begin
January 7 (Saturday)
Legislative Day (classes meet on a normal schedule)
January 19 (Thursday)
Last day of classes
January 19-20 (Thursday-Friday) Departure window

January Term in New York and Washington DC

DateEvent
January 2 (Monday) Arrival Day
January 3 (Tuesday)Classes begin
January 7 (Saturday)Legislative Day (classes meet on a normal schedule)
January 16 (Monday)
No classes: Martin Luther King Day
January 19 (Thursday)
Last day of classes
January 19-20 (Thursday-Friday) Departure window

January Term in NYU Global Sites

DateEvent
January 3 (Tuesday) Arrival Day
January 4 (Wednesday)Classes begin
January 7 (Saturday)
Legislative Day (classes meet on a normal schedule)
January 19 (Thursday)
Last day of classes
January 19-20 (Thursday-Friday) Departure window

Spring Semester 1

DateEvent 
January 20-23 (Friday-Monday)
Arrival window
 
January 24 (Tuesday)Classes begin 
January 30 (Monday)Add/Drop deadline for 7-week courses 
February 6 (Monday)Add/Drop deadline for 14-week courses 
February 23 (Thursday)Withdrawal and change of grading basis deadline for 7-week courses
 
March 13 (Monday)
Last day of classes for 7-week courses
 
March 14-15 (Tuesday-Wednesday)
No classes: Final exams for 7-week courses
 

Spring Break

DateEvent
March 16-25 (Thursday-Saturday)No classes

Spring Semester 2

DateEvent
March 26 (Sunday)Classes begin
March 30 (Thursday)
Add/Drop deadline for 7-week courses
April 6 (Thursday)Withdrawal and change of grading basis deadline for 14-week courses
April 22 (Saturday)Legislative Day (classes meet on a Monday schedule)
April 24 (Monday)No classes: Isra & Mi'rai Holiday
April 25 (Tuesday)
Withdrawal and change of grading basis deadline for 7-week courses
May 11 (Thursday)
Last day of classes
May 14-18 (Sunday-Thursday)Final Exams
May 24 (Wednesday)
Commencement

Summer Term

DateEvent
May 27 (Saturday) Arrival day
May 28 (Sunday)
Classes begin
June 1 (Thursday)
Add/Drop deadline
June 15 (Thursday)
Withdrawal and change of grading basis deadline
June 22 (Thursday)
Last day of classes
June 24 (Saturday)
Final exams
June 24-25 (Saturday-Sunday) Departure window