Faculty Awards, Honors, and Fellowships during AY 2020-21

Examples include (but are not limited to):

Awards & Prizes

  • 2020 Fiona McGillivray Award for the Best Political Economy Paper, American Political Science Association   
  • 2020 Philosophers' Annual "Ten Best Papers Published in Philosophy"
  • AI2000 Most Influential Scholar Award   
  • Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Prize at Sundance Film Festival   
  • Berlin Prize, The American Academy in Berlin
  • Distinguished Article Award, American Sociology Association, Sociology of Religion Section
  • Gold Winner, 2020MarCom Awards  
  • Kifra Prize, African Institute for Mathematical Science/Next Einstein Forum 
  • Menelaus Medal 2020 for Excellence in Engineering and Technology, Learned Society of Wales 
  • Social Science History Association’s Founders Prize  
  • T.S. Ashton Prize, Economic History Review
  • Technology Innovation Pioneers Healthcare Award, UAE Ministry of Economy 
  • The Hans and Marlies Zimmer International Scholar Program Award, University of Cincinnati 
  • Young Faculty Career Development Award, Biomedical Engineering Society


  • Elected Member to the American Academy of Science
  • Scholar of Honor, European University of St. Petersburg
  • Elected Board of Directors, Dutch Science Research Foundation
  • Innovators Under 35 MENA (2020)
  • Honorary Member, Razmadze Mathematical Institute (Georgia)

Grants & Fellowships

  • Abu Dhabi Cultural Foundation
  • Abu Dhabi Ports
  • Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation
  • Department of Culture and Tourism - Abu Dhabi
  • Economic Theory Fellow, Society for the Advancement of Economic Theory
  • Fellowship, Society for Economic Measurement
  • Forbes Ignite Impact Fellowship
  • Gordon and Betty Moore Foundation
  • Henry Luce Foundation
  • King Abdullah University of Science and Technology
  • Mubadala Investment Company
  • National Endowment for the Humanities
  • National Institute of Health
  • Russell Sage Foundation Fellowship
  • U.S. Department of State
  • United Nations Children's Fund