Press Release

New York University Abu Dhabi (NYUAD) welcomes 24 talented undergraduate students to the Sheikh Mohamed bin Zayed Scholars Program’s (SMSP) seventh edition this year (2014-2015). Designed for academically high-achieving undergraduate students in the junior and senior years of their bachelor’s degrees, the program aims to prepare students for success in graduate and professional study.

The Sheikh Mohamed bin Zayed Scholars Program, which was established in 2008 by NYUAD in collaboration with the Abu Dhabi Education Council, trains Scholars in critical thinking, writing, public speaking, and leadership. The program is offered to competitively selected students from the UAE’s federal universities, including UAE University, Higher Colleges of Technology, and Zayed University.

Driven toward offering cross-cultural experiences, the program includes travel to New York and Washington, DC, and visits to significant historical and cultural attractions as well as meetings with international leaders at key governmental locations. Past graduates of the eight-month program have gone on to success in academia, business, government, and other prestigious fields.

“The program instills an appetite for lifelong learning,” said Her Highness Sheikha Mariam bint Mohamed bin Zayed Al Nahyan, chair of the program's steering committee. “I congratulate these students, who will no doubt continue in the footsteps of past Scholars who have succeeded in their higher education and excelled in an increasingly globalized and competitive environment. These Scholars represent the leaders and innovators of the future.”

Each Scholars class brings together extremely talented and intelligent students. “We believe we have successfully been able to provide our Scholars with the necessary ingredients for their self-development on both personal and professional levels,” said Diane Yu, executive director of SMSP and deputy president of NYU. Moreover, “We have organized several professional development activities for our alumni to further extend our support to them as they excel in their professional careers.”

The Sheikh Mohamed bin Zayed Scholars Program includes:

● One of two political science classes: a course taught by NYU President John Sexton that examines the relationship between religion and government, or a class on US foreign policy.

● A course of study in leadership, taught by SMSP Executive Director Diane Yu, in which Scholars examine theories of leadership, develop their own leadership self-awareness, and meet with thought leaders in politics, economics, the arts, and philanthropy.

● Full scholarships to any Scholar who is admitted to an NYU graduate or professional school.

Eligible applicants undergo a rigorous selection and interview process based on academic achievements, leadership potential, and aspiration for self-development.

This program is one of two significant community outreach programs operated by NYU Abu Dhabi. The other is the Summer Academy for recipients of the Sheikh Mohamed bin Zayed Scholarships for Outstanding High School Students. Participants are Abu Dhabi high school students entering their 11th year, who hope to attend top-tier English-language universities.

The 2014-2015 Sheikh Mohamed bin Zayed University Scholars are:

Abdulla Ahmed Abdulwahed Ali Alhammadi - HCT

Abdulla Saqer Obaid Saqer Antar Alnuaimi - HCT

Abeer Abdulla Esmaeel Almalki Alharmi - HCT

Amal Al-Iriani - UAEU

Amna Abdulrazak Alsayed Ahmed Alhashemi - ZU

Amna Abdulwahed Mohamed Ibrahim Sayyah - ZU

Asmaa Ahmed Mohamed Ahmed - ZU

Ayesha Ghanim Ali Ghanim Almarri - ZU

Bader Ahmad Ali Al Hamadi - HCT

Fatma Ahmad Khalaf Obaid Bin Touq Almarri - ZU

Fatme Rachid Rachid - ZU

Hamda Majid Mohamed Alshaikhahmed Alkhazraji - ZU

Ilyas Wahid Ahmad Alattar Alzarooni - HCT

Khadeeja Adam Sy - UAEU

Khaled Jamal Alzoubi - UAEU

Maitha Khaled Mohammed Matar Alkaabi - ZU

Mariam Abdulla Hasan Ahmed Al Haddad - ZU

Mariam Hassan Mohamed Hassan Almeraikhi - HCT

Mohammad Muhsin Ali - UAEU

Mwanarusi Hamadi Mwatondo - UAEU

Salem Ali Hathboor Alhathboor Alfalasi - ZU

Sara Ali El Fadil Hassan UAEU

Shaikha Fahed Saeed Juma Alketbi - ZU

Tariq Abdulla Gharib Juma - HCT