Orientations

DateEvent
August 27 (Monday)
Faculty orientation
August 28-30 (Tuesday to Thursday)
Marhaba (student) orientation

Fall Semester 1

DateEvent
September 2 (Sunday)
Classes begin
September 6 (Thursday)
Add/drop and change of grading basis deadline for 7-week courses
September 13 (Thursday)
Add/drop and change of grading basis deadline for 14-week courses
September 27 (Thursday)
Course withdrawal deadline for 7-week courses
October 18 (Thursday)Last day of classes for 7-week courses
October 18 (Thursday)
Course withdrawal deadline for 14-week courses
October 19 (Friday)Study day
October 20 (Saturday)Exam day for 7-week courses

Fall Semester 2

DateEvent
October 21 (Sunday)Classes begin
October 24-29 (Wednesday to Monday)
No classes: Eid al-Adha and fall term break
October 25 (Thursday)
Add/drop and change of grading basis deadline for 7-week courses
October 30 (Tuesday)
Special Thursday class schedule
November 4-8 (Sunday to Thursday)Tentative: spring semester advisement and registration
November 15 (Thursday)No classes: Al-Hijra/Hijri New Year's Day
November 15 (Thursday)Course withdrawal deadline for 7-week courses
December 2 (Sunday)No classes: UAE National Day
December 16 (Sunday)Last day of classes
December 17-20 (Monday to Thursday)Exam days
December 21 (Friday)Winter break begins

Winter Break

DateEvent
December 21, 2012 - January 5, 2013
No classes

January Term

DateEvent
January 6 (Sunday)
Classes begin and add/drop deadline for all courses
January 10 (Thursday)
Course withdrawal deadline for all courses
January 23 (Wednesday)
Classes end
January 24 (Thursday)Prophet Mohammed's birthday

Spring Semester 1

DateEvent
January 29 (Tuesday)
Classes begin
February 7 (Thursday)
Add/drop and change of grading basis deadline for 7-week courses
February 14 (Thursday)
Add/drop and change of grading basis deadline for 14-week courses
February 26 (Tuesday)
Special Thursday class schedule
February 27-28 (Wednesday to Thursday)No classes: special study program weekend
February 28 (Thursday)
Course withdrawal deadline for 7-week courses
March 20 (Wednesday)Classes end
March 21 (Thursday)Exam day
March 21 (Thursday)Course withdrawal deadline for 14-week courses

Spring Semester 2

DateEvent
March 31 (Sunday)
Classes begin
April 4 (Thursday)
Add/drop and change of grading basis deadline for 7-week courses
April 7-11 (Sunday to Thursday)
Tentative: fall semester advisement and registration
April 25 (Thursday)
Course withdrawal deadline for 7-week courses
May 16 (Thursday)Classes end
May 17-18 (Friday to Saturday)
Study days
May 19-22 (Sunday to Wednesday)Exam days

Summer Term in Abu Dhabi

DateEvent
May 26 (Sunday)
Four-week, first-half Engineering, and NYUAD June-term classes begin
June 6 (Thursday)
First-half Engineering classes end
June 9 (Sunday)
Second-half Engineering classes begin
June 12 (Wednesday)
June-Term summer class (CORES-AD 34J Polarization) ends
June 20 (Thursday)Four-week and second-half Engineering classes end

Summer Term in New York

DateEvent
May 28 (Tuesday)
NYUAD June-term classes in New York begin
June 14 (Friday)
NYUAD June-term classes in New York end