Martin Bowen-Silva, Assistant Professor of History

Martin Bowen, Assistant Professor of History

Field: Atlantic World
Research Interests: Latin America; History of Emotions; Communication and Politics; History of the Body; Connected Histories
Email: martin.bowen@nyu.edu

Fiona Kidd, Assistant Professor of History, Art and Art History

fiona-kidd-484

Field: Indian Ocean / Asia-Pacific World
Research Interests: Central Asia; Archaeology; Mobile-Sedentary Interactions; Craft Production; Images and the Built Environment; Rank and Status
Email: fjk3@nyu.edu

Martin Klimke, Associate Professor of History; Associate Dean of Humanities

Martin Klimke, Associate Professor of History, NYUAD

Field: Atlantic World
Research Interests:
US and the World; US Foreign Affairs and Transatlantic Relations; Cold War; Activism, Dissent and Protest Movements; Transnational History
Email:
klimke@nyu.edu

Masha Kirasirova, Assistant Professor of History

Masha Kirasirova

Field: Mediterranean World / Atlantic World
Research Interests: 20th-Century Middle East; Socialist Internationalism; Soviet Cultural and Political History; Central Asia; Cold War; Orientalism; Transnational History
Email:
masha.kirasirova@nyu.edu

Amir Minsky, Assistant Teaching Professor of History

amir-minsky01

Field: Atlantic World
Research Interests: Germany; Modern European Intellectual History; Global French Revolution; History of Emotions
Email:
amir.minsky@nyu.edu

Lauren Minsky, Assistant Professor of History

Lauren Minsky, Assistant Professor of History, NYUAD

Field: Indian Ocean World
Research Interests: South Asia; Indian Ocean; World; Agrarian Environments; Global Public Health; History of Science, Technology and Medicine
Email:
lauren.minsky@nyu.edu

Pedro Monaville, Assistant Professor of History

Pedro Monaville

Field: Atlantic World / Indian Ocean World
Research Interests: Modern Africa; Colonialism; Decolonization; Youth Protests; Political Culture; Transnational History; Intellectual History; History of Education; Memory Studies
Email: pedro.monaville@nyu.edu

Erin Pettigrew, Assistant Professor of History & Arab Crossroads Studies

erin-pettigrew-2

Field: Atlantic World / Indian Ocean World
Research Interests: History of Africa; Slavery; Race; Colonialism; Social History of West Africa and the Sahara; Islam; Health and Healing
Email: erin.pettigrew@nyu.edu

Nadine Roth, Assistant Teaching Professor of History

Nadine Roth, Faculty Fellow, NYUAD

Field: Atlantic World / Mediterranean World
Research Interests: Modern Europe; Urbanism
Email:
nadine.roth@nyu.edu

Justin Stearns, Associate Professor and Program Head of Arab Crossroads Studies

justin-stearns05

Field: Mediterranean World
Research Interests: Islamic History; Al-Andalus; Medieval and Early Modern Thought; History of Science; Religous Studies
Email:
jstearns@nyu.edu

Mark Swislocki, Associate Professor and Program Head of History

Mark Swislocki, Associate Professor of History, NYUAD

Field: Asia-Pacific
Research Interests: China; Cultural History, Environmental history, Minority Peoples of China
Email:
mark.swislocki@nyu.edu

Past Affiliate & Visiting Faculty 2010/11-2012/13

Thomas Bender, Professor of History, University Professor of the Humanities

Affiliation: NYU New York
Field: United States
Research Interests:
US Intellectual and Cultural History, 1750-present; Intellectuals and Cities; Transnational and Global Approaches to US History; Historiography

Linda Gordon, Professor of History, Florence Kelley Professor

Affiliation: NYU New York
Field: United States
Research Interests: Twentieth-century US Social, Political, and Social Policy History; Women and Gender; Family; US Southwest

David Hollinger, Preston Hotchkis Professor of History, UC Berkeley

Field: United States
Research Interests: America since 1607; Intellectual History